There are no fair asylum procedures without legal counseling

The Refugee Law Clinic Berlin e.V. is a student association at the Humboldt University of Berlin.  We provide free of charge and independent legal counseling for refugees and migrants in Berlin and on the greek island of Samos. 

The Concept of the Law Clinic

The concept of the Law Clinic is to produce a win-win-situation:

On the one hand students can specialize in a field of law and to practice what they have learned while being under legal supervision. On the other hand we offer low-threshold and free legal counseling.

Access to justice for all

Being given rights does not automatically mean to also be able to get access to these rights.

Especially for refugees and migrants there are several barriers when it comes to the enforcement of their rights. That is why they are guaranteed procedural counseling by European law in order to secure a faire asylum procedure. This guarantee is neither being completely fulfilled in Germany nor at Europe's external borders. 

 

More migration law in legal studies

In order to prepare committed people for our counseling we offer a training cycle in asylum and residence law. With those lectures we close a gap in the University's curriculum as there are no lectures on this topic in the Berlin law schools despite its high relevance.

 

We strive for more state responsibility 

When it comes to the asylum procedure he german administration is often unsatisfactory. We keep up our work as a societal responsibility but strive for clear responsibility of the state: It cannot be the task of private organizations and volunteers to make up for the delay of the state!

 

We stand for progressive migration politics: #LeaveNoOneBehind

A critical perspective on the European migration policies shows that Europe does not fulfill its role as a human rights based union of values. With our legal counseling project on the greek island of Samos we actively take a stand against the European isolation policies at the Union's borders. In doing that we take on our societal responsibility and are open for constructive cooperations and partnerships fighting for access to justice and progressive migration policies.

Neuer Vorstand 21_22.jpg

We #StayHome but keep fighting for #AccessToJustice

Our Team

The RLC Berlin consists of almost 300 members who are united by their commitment to access to justice for all. Besides many students, people of different professions and age groups are involved in the work of our association. The different projects of the association are coordinated by the board and the office and actively supported by our association members.

 

The Office

Due to the Corona Virus we cannot hold office hours at the moment. Please contact us via e-mail.

In our office at the law Faculty of the Humboldt-University Berlin our student assistants Katharina Stübinger, Rhea Kummer, Atousa Mozaffari and Greta Wessing as well as our research assistant Safiye Sahin take care of the daily business of the RLC Berlin. That includes:

  • Lecture support 

  • Support and coordination of the legal advisers

  • Coordination of the legal supervision for the legal advisers

  • Organisation of events

  • Administrative work

Rhea.jpeg
greta.JPG
Atousa.jpeg

Rhea grief

Greta Wessing

After two years as co-chair, Greta is now in her third year supporting the RLC Berlin board. Since completing her counselling training in August 2018, she first counseled in Marienfelde and spent a few months in our legal information project in Samos in early 2021. She is currently preparing for her first state exam. 

Atousa Mozaffari

Atousa studies law at the HU Berlin and has been a member of the RLC since 2014. Since September 2020, she has been actively involved as SHK in the GS and association work and is responsible in particular for finances, financial planning and writing funding applications. In addition, Atousa is also part of the Education, the Counselling and the Event team. Here she takes on administrative and organisational tasks, assists with the organisation of the training cycle, accompanies the associated lecture and supports with event and workshop planning.  

Rhea is a 6th semester law student at HU and has been a member of the office since October 2020. She is an integral part of the public relations and counselling working groups. She has also been actively advising in the Legal Advice Team for Women since September 2020.

Abdulkader Birawi

Abdulkader studiert im Bachelor Mechatronik an der BHT und ist seit Oktober 2021 Mitglied der Geschäftsstelle. Er ist fester Bestandteil der AG Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und AG Finanzen.

 

Board of the association

elected in February 2021

next General Meeting presumably in February 2022

Our board of the association works on a voluntary basis and is in close contact with our office and all those involved in the association. Monthly organizational meetings, which are open to all members of the association, are the starting point of our manifold work. 

Laura.jpeg
E33289B6-F5C8-46C0-8EBD-CA0575D22C00_1_1
Jakob.png

Laura Konrad

Co-Chair

Laura completed the 2019/20 training cycle and has been working as a counsellor since then. She has been co-chair of the association since February 2021.

Zoran Bulut

Co-Chair

Zozan comes from Cologne, studied cultural and social anthropology in Vienna for her Bachelor's degree and is currently doing her Master's at the Free University of Berlin. In her studies, in her job and in her voluntary work, she has always focused on the topic of migration. This motivation led to RLC and the training cycle that started in winter semester 2020.  

Jakob Feddersen

Treasurer

Jakob is a 6th semester law student at Humboldt University, having completed the training cycle in August 2019. He has been on the board since 2020 and is now in his second year on the board. As treasurer, he is part of the Finance team and takes care of the association account and membership administration.

greta.JPG
Sophie.jpeg

Greta Wessing

After two years as co-chair, Greta is now in her third year supporting the RLC Berlin board. Since completing her counselling training in August 2018, she first counseled in Marienfelde and spent a few months in our legal information project in Samos in early 2021. She is currently preparing for her first state exam. 

Sophie Mattiuzzo

Sophie is in her 6th semester of studying music at the University of the Arts, in the artistic-pedagogical training with flute as her main subject. Since 2016, she has been working on and off in community shelters in Berlin and Italy, this eventually led her to the RLC. She started the training cycle in winter 2020. She is currently attending the summer semester of the training. She joined the board in February 2021. As a result, she joined the Training and Counselling team.

Nora Gohrt

Nora is now in her third year on the board of RLC Berlin. She works as an advisor in the Neukölln team. Since spring 2019, she has been part of the Samos working group and represents it on the board. Additionally, she is part of the Counselling team and co-founded the working group Syria in December 2020.

Marian Max Rütsche.jpg
Esma.jpeg
Lorenz.jpeg

Lorenz Böttcher

Lorenz has been studying law at Humboldt University since 2016. He completed our training cycle in 2017 and has already served on the board as treasurer between 2017 and 2019. 

Max Rütsche

Max completed the training cycle of the RLC 2016/17. He has been active in consulting since 2019, and on the board since 2020.

Esma Abderrahmane

Esma is a 2nd semester law student at Humboldt University and is currently still in the 2020/2021 training cycle. She has been a part of the board since February 2021.

Paula.jpeg

Paula Milanowski

Paula completed a Bachelor's degree in Geography with a focus on Political Geography and Migration in Berlin and Lisbon until 2018. At the moment, she is studying law in the fourth semester at Humboldt University and is participating in the RLC training cycle. 

Our lecturers for the lectures of our training cycle

Winter semester 2021/22

Pauline Endres de Oliveira & Barbara Wessel

Summer semester 2022

Johanna Mantel

Every year we offer low-threshold and free access to information on asylum and residence law with our lecture series and at the same time train new legal advisors for the RLC Berlin. Without our great lecturers, who give a comprehensive lecture every year that is always on the latest topics in the field of asylum and residence law, we could never implement this concept. Thank you for your support!

 
Pauline Endres de Oliveira.jpg

© Amnesty International / Andreas Chudowski

A9D89400-8391-47AA-B36E-258DB4E97F77_1_201_a.jpeg

Pauline Endres de Oliveira

Johanna Mantel

Barbara Wessel

Pauline Endres de Oliveira works at the Justus Liebig University in one  Research project on global migration  and is doing her doctorate on the legal aspects of secure access routes for those seeking protection in the EU. Pauline has been a lecturer for the RLC Berlin since 2015. Pauline is a member of Amnesty International's Asylum Commission and a member of the board of directors of the human rights organization 
JUMEN  and  Member of the editorial board of the constitution blog .

Barbara Wessel has been a lecturer at RLC Berlin since the winter semester 2020/2021. She has been working as a lawyer since 2002, specializing in asylum and residence law and family law. She also advises on  Lesbian and Gay Association in Germany  as with the  Lesbian Advice Berlin eV  on all asylum, residence and family law issues, especially for binational couples.

Johanna Mantel works as legal advisor and co-editor of the Asylmagazin at the Informationsverbund Asyl und Migration ( asyl.net ). Since founding the Refugee Law Clinic Berlin, she has been teaching asylum and residence law as a lecturer at the Humboldt University in Berlin.

Supervision care

Since 2018 supervisor at RLC Berlin

Anya Lean

Due to the legal advice we offer, it is mandatory that our advisors regularly take part in supervision. Our supervision is supervised by fully qualified lawyers who are themselves active in asylum and residence law. We also use the supervision to ensure that our consultants continue to stay up to date in the field of law in order to ensure, among other things, the quality of the advice. Apart from the regular appointments, our consultants can email our supervisors at any time to obtain an expert opinion on urgent questions. We therefore really appreciate the great support from our supervisors.

 
IMG_20211001_102814.jpg

Anya Lean

Anya studied law in Tübingen, Antwerp and Göttingen. She did her legal clerkship in Berlin. She has been working as a lawyer specializing in migration law since 2015. She has also been a specialist lawyer for migration law since 2018. RLC Berlin has been accompanying Anya since 2018  as a case supervisor.

Ohne Asylverfahrensberatung kein faires Asylverfahren

Die Refugee Law Clinic Berlin e.V. ist ein studentischer Verein an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Wir bieten kostenlose und unabhängige Rechtsberatung für Geflüchtete und Migrant*innen in Berlin und ein Rechtsinformationsprojekt auf der griechischen Insel Samos an.

 

Ehrenamtliche Rechtsberatung: Das Konzept der Law Clinic

Die Idee der Law Clinic soll eine Win-win-Situation schaffen:

Studierenden wird bereits im Studium die Möglichkeit geboten, sich in einem Rechtsgebiet zu spezialisieren und das Erlernte unter juristischer Supervision und Anleitung praktisch anzuwenden. Gleichzeitig lassen sich so niedrigschwellige und kostenfreie, juristische Beratungsangebote schaffen. 

Zugang zum Recht für alle

Rechte zu haben, heißt nicht automatisch, Recht auch zu bekommen.

Insbesondere für Geflüchtete und Migrant*innen gibt es vielfältige Hürden in der Durchsetzung ihrer Rechte.

Daher gibt es einen europarechtlichen Anspruch auf Verfahrensberatung, um ein faires Asylverfahren zu ermöglichen. Dieser Anspruch wird aktuell weder in Deutschland noch an den EU Außengrenzen ausreichend erfüllt. 

 

Mehr Migrationsrecht im Jurastudium

Um engagierte Menschen zu Berater*innen auszubilden, bieten wir einen mehrteiligen Fortbildungszyklus an.  

Mit unseren Lehrveranstaltungen zum Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht schließen wir eine Lücke im universitären Lehrplan. Denn trotz der enormen gesellschaftlichen Bedeutung, bieten auch die Berliner Universitäten weiterhin kein angemessenes Lehrangebot zum Migrationsrecht an. 

 

Für mehr staatliche Verantwortung: Es ist uns keine Ehre 

Die deutsche Verwaltungspraxis ist oftmals mangelhaft.

Deshalb erhalten wir unser ehrenamtliches Angebot aufrecht, doch sagen ganz klar:

Ehrenamtliche können nicht dauerhaft staatliche Missstände auffangen. 

 

Für eine progressive Migrationspolitik: #LeaveNoOneBehind

Ein kritischer Blick auf die europäische Migrationspolitik zeigt: Europa wird seiner Rolle einer menschenrechtsbasierten Werteunion nicht gerecht. Mit unserem Rechtsinformationsprojekt auf Samos sind wir an der europäischen Außengrenze aktiv und setzen uns gegen die Abschottungspolitik ein.

Wir nehmen damit unsere zivilgesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahr und sind offen für Kooperationen und Partnerschaften im Kampf für den Zugang zum Recht und eine progressive Migrationspolitik.

Mehr Informationen findet ihr in unserer Satzung und in unserem Selbstverständnis.

Neuer Vorstand 21_22.jpg

We #StayHome but keep fighting for #AccessToJustice

Team

Die knapp 300 Mitglieder der RLC Berlin vereint das Engagement für Zugang zum Recht für alle. Neben vielen Studierenden engagieren sich bei uns Personen unterschiedlicher Berufs- und Altersgruppen. Die verschiedenen Projekte des Vereins werden vom Vorstand und der Geschäftsstelle koordiniert und tatkräftig von unseren Vereinsmitgliedern unterstützt.

 

Geschäftsstelle

Wegen des Corona Virus findet bis auf weiteres keine Sprechstunde der Geschäftsstelle statt! Bitte kontaktiert uns per E-Mail.

In unserer Geschäftsstelle an der juristischen Fakultät der HU Berlin betreuen unsere studentischen Hilfskräfte Atousa Mozaffari,
Katharina Stübinger, Rhea Kummer und Greta Wessing das Tagesgeschäft der RLC Berlin. Dazu zählen:

  • Betreuung der Vorlesung 

  • Betreuung und Koordination der Berater*innen

  • Koordination der juristischen Supervision für die Berater*innen

  • Organisation von Veranstaltungen

  • Verwaltungsarbeit

Rhea.jpeg
greta.JPG
Atousa.jpeg

Rhea Kummer

Greta Wessing

Nach zwei Jahren als Co-Vorsitzende unterstützt Greta den Vorstand der RLC Berlin nun im dritten Jahr. Seitdem sie ihre Ausbildung zur Beraterin im August 2018 abgeschlossen hat, beriet sie zunächst in Marienfelde und verbrachte Anfang 2021 einige Monate in unserem Rechtsinformationsprojekt auf Samos. Aktuell bereitet sie sich auf das erste Staatsexamen vor. 

Atousa Mozaffari

Atousa studiert Jura an der HU Berlin und ist seit 2014 Vereinsmitglied bei der RLC. Seit September 2020 ist sie als SHK in der GS und Vereinsarbeit aktiv tätig und insbesondere für die Finanzen, Finanzplanung sowie das Schreiben von Finanzierungsanträgen zuständig. Zudem ist Atousa auch Teil der AG Ausbildung, der AG Beratung und der AG Veranstaltung. Hierbei übernimmt sie administrative und organisatorische Tätigkeiten, unterstützt bei der Organisation des Fortbildungszyklus, begleitet die dazugehörige Vorlesung und unterstützt bei der Veranstaltungs- und Workshopplanung. 

Rhea studiert im 6. Semester Jura an der HU und ist seit Oktober 2020 Mitglied der Geschäftsstelle. Sie ist fester Bestandteil der AG Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und AG Beratung. Zudem berät sie seit September 2020 aktiv im Frauen-Beratungsteam.

Abdulkader Birawi

Abdulkader studiert im Bachelor Mechatronik an der BHT und ist seit Oktober 2021 Mitglied der Geschäftsstelle. Er ist fester Bestandteil der AG Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und AG Finanzen.

 

Vereinsvorstand

gewählt am 03.02.2021

nächste Mitgliederversammlung vrslt. im  Februar 2022

Unser Vereinsvorstand arbeitet ehrenamtlich und steht in engem Kontakt zu unserer Geschäftstelle und allen im Verein Engagierten. Monatliche Organisationstreffen, die allen Vereinsmitgliedern offen stehen bilden den Ausgangspunkt unserer vielfältigen Arbeit. 

Laura.jpeg
E33289B6-F5C8-46C0-8EBD-CA0575D22C00_1_1
Jakob.png

Laura Konrad

Co-Vorsitzende

Laura hat den Ausbildungszyklus 2019/20 abgeschlossen und ist seitdem als Beraterin tätig. Seit Februar 2021 ist sie Co-Vorsitzende des Vereins.

Zozan Bulut

Co-Vorsitzende

Zozan kommt aus Köln, studierte im Bachelor Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie in Wien und macht derzeit ihren Master an der Freien Universität Berlin. Im Studium, im Beruf und im Ehrenamt war das Engagement zum Thema Migration immer im Fokus. Diese Motivation führte zu RLC und dem im WiSe 2020 begonnen Ausbildungszyklus.  

Jakob Feddersen

Schatzmeister

Jakob studiert Jura an der Humboldt-Universität im 6. Semester, hat den Ausbildungszyklus im August 2019 abgeschlossen. Seit 2020 ist er im Vorstand und nun in seinem zweiten Vorstandsjahr. Als Schatzmeister ist er Teil der AG Finanzen und kümmert sich um das Vereinskonto und die Mitgliederverwaltung.

greta.JPG
Sophie.jpeg

Greta Wessing

Nach zwei Jahren als Co-Vorsitzende unterstützt Greta den Vorstand der RLC Berlin nun im dritten Jahr. Seitdem sie ihre Ausbildung zur Beraterin im August 2018 abgeschlossen hat, beriet sie zunächst in Marienfelde und verbrachte Anfang 2021 einige Monate in unserem Rechtsinformationsprojekt auf Samos. Aktuell bereitet sie sich auf das erste Staatsexamen vor. 

Sophie Mattiuzzo

Sophie studiert im 6. Semester Musik an der Universität der Künste, in der künstlerisch-pädagogischen Ausbildung mit Hauptfach Querflöte.

Seit 2016 ist sie immer wieder in Gemeinschaftsunterkünften in Berlin und Italien tätig gewesen, dies führten sie schließlich zur RLC. Sie hat den Ausbildungszyklus im Winter 2020 begonnen. Zurzeit besucht sie das SoSe der Ausbildung. Seit Februar 2021 ist sie im Vorstand. Daraufhin ist sie der AG Ausbildung und AG Beratung beigetreten.

Nora Gohrt

Nora ist mittlerweile im dritten Vorstandsjahr für die RLC Berlin aktiv. Sie ist sie als Beraterin im Neuköllner Team tätig. Seit Frühjahr 2019 ist sie Teil der AG Samos und vertritt diese im Vorstand. Zusätzlich ist sie Teil der AG Beratung und hat im Dezember 2020 die Arbeitsgruppe Syrien mitbegründet.

Marian Max Rütsche.jpg
Esma.jpeg
Lorenz.jpeg

Lorenz Böttcher

Lorenz studiert seit 2016 Jura an der Humboldt-Universität. Er hat unseren Ausbildungszyklus 2017 abgeschlossen und war bereits zwischen 2017 und 2019 als Schatzmeister im Vorstand. 

Marian Max Rütsche

Max hat den Ausbildungszyklus der RLC 2016/17 abgeschlossen. Seit 2019 ist er in der Beratung aktiv, seit 2020 im Vorstand.

Esma Abderrahmane

Esma studiert Jura an der Humboldt-Universität im 2. Semester und befindet sich derzeit noch im Ausbildungszyklus 2020/2021. Seit Februar 2021 ist sie ein Teil des Vorstands.

Paula.jpeg

Paula Milanowski 

Paula hat bis 2018 einen Bachelor in Geographie mit dem Schwerpunkt Politische Geographie und Migration in Berlin und Lissabon absolviert. Im Moment studiert sie Jura im vierten Semester an der Humboldt-Universität und nimmt am Fortbildungszyklus der RLC teil. 

Unsere Lehrbeauftragten des Fortbildungszyklus

Wintersemester 2021/22

Pauline Endres de Oliveira & Barbara Wessel

Sommersemester 2022

Johanna Mantel

Jedes Jahr bieten wir mit unserer Vorlesungsreihe kostenlosen Zugang zu Informationen im Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht an und bilden gleichzeitig neue Rechtsberater*innen für die RLC Berlin aus. Ohne unsere großartigen Dozent*innen, die jedes Jahr eine umfassende und immer an den neusten Themen im Bereich des Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht orientierte Vorlesung halten, könnten wir dieses Konzept niemals umsetzen. Danke für eure Unterstützung!

 
Pauline Endres de Oliveira.jpg

© Amnesty International / Andreas Chudowski

A9D89400-8391-47AA-B36E-258DB4E97F77_1_201_a.jpeg

Pauline Endres de Oliveira

Johanna Mantel

Barbara Wessel

Pauline Endres de Oliveira arbeitet an der Justus-Liebig-Universität in einem Forschungsprojekt zu globaler Migration und promoviert zu den rechtlichen Aspekten sicherer Zugangswege für Schutzsuchende in die EU. Pauline ist seit 2015 Lehrbeauftragte für die RLC Berlin. Pauline ist Mitglied der Fachkommission Asyl von Amnesty International, Aufsichtsratsmitglied der Menschenrechtsorganisation 
JUMEN und Redaktionsmitglied des Verfassungsblogs.

Barbara Wessel ist seit dem Wintersemester 2020/2021 Lehrbeauftragte bei der RLC Berlin. Sie ist seit 2002 als Rechtsanwältin mit den Schwerpunkten Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht und Familienrecht tätig. Zudem berät sie beim Lesben- und Schwulenverband in Deutschland wie auch bei der Lesbenberatung Berlin e.V. zu allen asyl- und aufenthalts- sowie familienrechtlichen Fragen insbesondere binationaler Paare.

Johanna Mantel ist als Rechtsreferentin und Co-Redakteurin des Asylmagazins beim Informationsverbund Asyl und Migration (asyl.net) tätig. Seit Gründung der Refugee Law Clinic Berlin unterrichtet sie Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht als Lehrbeauftragte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Betreuung der Supervision

Seit 2018 Supervisorin bei der RLC Berlin

Anya Lean

Aufgrund unseres Rechtsberatungsangebots besteht die Pflicht, dass unsere Berater*innen regelmäßig an einer Supervision teilnehmen. Unsere Supervision wird von Volljurist*innen betreut, die selbst aktiv im Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht sind. Wir nutzen die Supervision zudem dafür, dass unsere Berater*innen weiterhin auf dem neusten Stand im Rechtsgebiet bleiben, um damit unter anderem auch die Qualität der Beratung sichern zu können. Abseits der regelmäßigen Termine können sich unsere Berater*innen jederzeit per E-Mail an unsere Supervisor*innen wenden, um bei dringenden Fragen eine Expert*innenmeinung einzuholen. Wir schätzen daher sehr die großartige Betreuung durch unsere Supervisor*innen.

 
IMG_20211001_102814.jpg

Anya Lean

Anya hat in Tübingen, Antwerpen und Göttingen Jura studiert. Ihr Referendariat machte sie in Berlin. Seit 2015 ist sie als Rechtsanwältin im Migrationsrecht tätig. Seit 2018 ist sie auch Fachanwältin für Migrationsrecht. Die RLC Berlin begleitet Anya seit 2018  als Fallsupervisorin.